SATY 2015 Awards to be a staging spectacular


#DKEXP, #SATY2015-3

African News Network today announced staging details for its upcoming South African of the Year (SATY) 2015 Awards to be held at the Ticketpro Dome (formerly the Coca Cola Dome) in Northgate, Johannesburg on October 17.


The stage consists of three revolves which can be moved in different configurations for reveals and will be lit by over 1000 pounds of LED lights. “It is a completely versatile set,” says Gearhouse’s Tim Dunn, who developed and designed it and will be responsible for building it in the four days leading up to the event. 


Three eight metre globes above the stage will feature projected visuals, and there will be three 15m screens on the stage, ensuring the audience doesn’t miss a thing. A ramp into the centre of the Dome which expands into a circular stage ensuring that no matter where guests are seated they will get a good view of the artists.


The set features many props and reveals, Dunn says, which organisers are keeping under wraps, “that’s the surprise factor.”


Thirteen thousand tickets have been made available to the public, making SATY 2015 the biggest awards show in the country. Tickets are available via and costs range from R1200, R1600, R2000 and R2500 depending on the location of the seats.


Winners for each category are being chosen through a public voting process in combination with a judging panel of 12 high-profile South Africans, including singer and humanitarian Yvonne Chaka Chaka.


So far 505 000 votes have already been cast, with members of the public able to vote by submitting forms at the SATY activations currently underway at malls countrywide, or via SMS and email.
Featuring a spectacular mix of world-class sound, lighting and pyrotechnics, performers confirmed for SATY 2015 include international superstars Christina Aguilera and Jason Derulo as well as local stars AKA, Mafikizolo, ChianoSky, Mafikizolo and The Soil.
Awards will be presented in nine categories – ranging from trendsetting celebrity, sportsperson, business leader entrepreneur and conservationist of the year.


The main category is the South African of the Year Award. Won last year by Public Protector, Thuli Madonsela, this year’s nominees are Bafana Bafana coach Ephraim “Shakes” Mashaba, acting Eskom CEO Brian Molefe, humanitarian Imtiaz Sooliman, reigning Miss World Rolene Strauss, academic Professor Salim Abdool Karim, African Union chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma and celebrity Bonang Matheba.


The Campaign of the Year Award honours both private individuals as well as companies driving initiatives to engineer positive social change while the Spirit of Humanity Award celebrates the South Africans behind some of our most successful charitable or humanitarian endeavours.


Editor-in-Chief of ANN7, Moegsien Williams says the theme for SATY 2015 is Unity in Diversity.

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-25

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-35

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-17

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-5

“We forget that we live in a great country with many making great strides in their various fields that wholly contribute to our upliftment as a nation. Thus it is important to celebrate our diverse histories, cultures, individuals and even differences.”


Adding to the glitz and glamour are TV personality Minnie Dlamini, ex-Miss South Africa Cindy Nell, actor Masego “Maps” Maponyane and model-turned-businesswoman, Jo-Ann Strauss, who have been announced as the hosts of SATY 2015.


In keeping with the innovative nature of the show, two VIP tickets will be given away to a blogger that blogs or tweets the most about SATY 2015 in the run-up to October 17. To enter simply email to register as a contestant with all posts to be marked  #SATYInsider so that they can be tracked.


In the run up to SATY 2015, ANN7 is screening the show, “I am South African”, which airs daily from Monday to Saturday at 6pm. It features inserts and interviews with SATY nominees and is hosted by Maponyane.


For more information visit or follow @SATY_AWARDS on Twitter (#SATY2015) or visit the SATY Awards Facebook page


#DKEXP, #SATY2015-79

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-49

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-46

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-73

#DKEXP, #SATY2015-43